RSS

Indian spas a treat for the wallet!

19 Feb

If there’s one comfort feature I’ve found in India that stands out, it is the hotel spa. There’s one usually in each of the better equipped hotels – and the industry let me assure you is very alive and well on this subcontinent!  Not only are hotels well appointed and the rooms modern with great features in them, but the staff are also truly helpful and genuinely friendly. Dunno who’s heading the hospitality industry in India, but it’s working and working well indeed!

Now coming from North America where most spa visits I’ve managed to afford can easily take care of couple months’ earnings plus the food served in the health conscious dining rooms has left me at least totally ravenous and looking for the closest burger joint on the way home.  Why have these folks not figured out that the stomach also needs some serious attention after the muscles have been kneaded and the good old “bod” worked on?

Here most spas are in hotels, and the outside body care is kept separate from the inside care, hallelujah! I’m still savouring the fabulous deep tissue massage I had in a 3-star hotel in Bengaluru recently. It set me back a total of $30 for a full hour! I could choose the scent with the oil I wanted, and the masseur worked that whole hour after which I had a choice of a steam or a regular shower, wow!  Obviously the Indian hoteliers have figured out something very simple: people are tired when they arrive and looking for a boost. The hotels make the spa available and affordable, period.

Now spa for the hair..not that there is one exclusively for that part of the anatomy, but the spas I visited in some hotels have natural “spa like” treatments for the scalp, for dry brittle hair, for oily hair, for winter hair…you name it. Here’s my favourite cure which I memorized from the brochure of one spa: massaging hair and scalp with coconut, almond, olive, jojoba, jaborandi or rosemary oil. No idea what jaborandi is, but it sounds, well, yummy!  Apparently, rubbing in the oil will replenish the natural oils in the hair and strengthen and enhance hair growth.  Now, I’ve actually been massaging coconut oil from a nifty little bottle onto my itchy scalp and hair once a week for a few months, and the results are amazing.  My hair’s got a lot thicker, and the scalp no longer itches.  

Before you start pouring the cooking oil from the kitchen cupboard into your hair at home, please do check the type and quality of oils that are recommended. The spas are something we all should be able to afford; just love people who have it figured out that they should not be a luxury.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2012 in travel journals

 

3 responses to “Indian spas a treat for the wallet!

  1. santina kerslake

    March 5, 2012 at 9:04 pm

    Wonderful to hear that you are taking in some relaxation as well! The massage and spa experience sound amazing! I’m sure you are not in a hurry to get back to Canada.

    Like

     
    • Peelinglayers

      March 7, 2012 at 3:01 pm

      Thanks for the “endorsement”! No, I really am not when I hear about blizzards and ice and sleet, right? It is getting hot here and will get even hotter before the monsoons. Then I’ll get to experience the sheets of pouring rain. Nature keeps suprising us all the time.

      Wishing you well and please let me know about the B.C. spring! Cheers

      Like

       
  2. Merida

    March 5, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    Hmmmm. Sounds like someone is REALLY enjoying life in Hyderabad.
    I really believe it’s where you’re meant to be… and so much more to look forward to.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
